6 Ways to Exercise Despite Your Busy Schedule

My friends think I’m crazy and most of you probably will too.  I’ve recently decided that not only am I going to work full-time and start a business, I’m also going to train for a fitness competition.  Yup, you heard that right.  On top of the rest of my life I’ve decided to just pile on one more thing because, ya know, why not?  Now, this is not typical and I don’t expect most young women to take on something like this.  It’s really a whole change in lifestyle that requires a lot of dedication and will power that has taken me years to obtain.  However, if this sounds interesting to you and you want some more information, please feel free to contact me! 🙂

But, if you don’t feel like going full bonkers like me in the fitness department, here are 6 easy ways to get the exercise you need to stay healthy and happy despite your crazy schedule!

If your office doesn't look like this, here are some other tips on how to get some exercise!

If your office doesn’t look like this, here are some other tips on how to get some exercise!

  1. Pencil it into your calendar: I know you have a very busy life, so if you need to, literally schedule time for exercise.  Maybe you enjoy running, pencil it in from 7am-8am.  Perhaps the gym is more your thing.  In between the end of the day and your daughter’s dance class at 7pm, schedule an hour trip to the gym to do whatever floats your boat.  If it’s written down in your planner (or on your phone) as an actual event you’re more likely to do it.
  2. Grab a friend: I’m well aware that many women don’t like going to the gym or working out by themselves.  It can be very intimidating, especially if you’re new to exercising.  If this sounds like you, grab a friend and make a plan together!  It can be much easier to get those work outs in when you have someone else pushing you along.  Plus, it’s always nice to have a little girl chat while you’re sweating away your stress.
  3. Walk (or run) on lunch: Do you have an hour lunch like me?  Well, why don’t you use that time to walk?  My friends and I do this as well as tons of other people who grab their lunch group and use half of their time to go on a 30 minute walk.  Some people at my office even go on full out runs! (I only recommend this if you don’t mind being smelly or sweaty at work since most offices, including mine, don’t have showers). Either way, it’s an easy time to get in a few minutes of exercise.  Plus, you’ll come back feeling refreshed for the second half of your day.
  4. Pack your bag and go right from work:  I’ve fallen into the trap of going home after work and then never wanting to leave again to go to the gym.  In order to avoid this, pack your gym bag in the morning and go right from work.  Or, if you’re an early bird you could always go before work instead!  This way, it’s just another part of your day and you’ll feel great once you get home.
  5. You don’t have to do it everyday, but try to most days:  My husband and I work out 6 days a week (like I said earlier, this is a lifestyle choice we’ve made), but that doesn’t mean you have to!  The goal should be between 3-5 days of exercise and it doesn’t always have to be the same days.  If this week you can do Monday, Wednesday, Friday, but next week you can only do Tuesday, Wednesday, Saturday, there’s nothing wrong with that!  Just get in that exercise as often as you can whenever your schedule permits.
  6. Make it a habit: The best way to make sure you work out? Make it a habit!  If you can follow a pretty consistent schedule for 2 weeks to 1 month, it will eventually start to be second nature.  It’ll feel weird if you skip your normal yoga or step class.  If you can make it to the point where it’s just a part of your life, you’ll be that much closer to having a less stressful, happier, and healthier existence.

What are your best tips for exercising on a busy schedule?

Leave a Reply

