Girls Night Out: Pole Dancing

In honor of all your hard work, I introduce the Girl’s Night Out series.  I will sporadically post fun and interesting girls night out options to help you kick back, relax, and have a blast after a long week.  After all, if you work hard you’re entitled to play hard!

So, looking for an activity you’ve probably never done before?  Why don’t you try taking a pole dancing class?  Before you run away and get all judgmental on me, hear me out.

For my bachelorette party, 7 of my closest girlfriends and I took a pole dancing class.  About a month or two later, I went back to the same place for another friend’s bachelorette party.  Let me tell you, this was one of the most fun and challenging things I’ve ever done!  My view of strippers and exotic dancers was completely changed forever.

The class went over the basics of pole dancing like lifts and spins.  We even got to learn a fun little burlesque dance at the end that I still remember (at mine we danced to Express by Christina Aguilera).  Wowee, did I feel sexy and dangerous!  This was all done barefoot in a cute pair of shorts and a t-shirt or tank top.  No crazy heels, panties, or anything else that would make you feel uncomfortable.

The entire class was spent laughing and realizing that pole dancing is actually really difficult.  All of the girls motivated each other to try each move, even if none of us were very good at it.  I’ll admit, I had it a little bit easier than some of them because I work out, but I never realized how much arm strength is required to do the majority of moves.  My arms were so sore the next day it was as if I had lifted at the gym. All totally worth it.

So, if you’re looking for a great bonding experience that is a little out of the ordinary, I suggest you google your closest pole dancing class.  Everyone left feeling excited, sexy, and rejuvenated.  Even my most sporty friends had an amazing time so really it can be for anyone!  Plus, most classes I’ve seen are also very affordable.  Cheap fun that’s a work out and teaches you a unique skill?  What could possibly be better?!  Step out of your comfort zone and give it a try!

Learning the basics of pole dancing.  You need some serious arm and leg strength for this!

Learning the basics of pole dancing. You need some serious arm and leg strength for this!

Laughing uncontrollably as I try to hang upside down.

Laughing uncontrollably as I try to hang upside down.

Have you ever tried pole dancing classes?  If not, would you ever? Super fun or not your thing?

Leave a Reply

