How to Be a Great Wedding Guest

This has been the year of weddings for me.  Not only did I get to marry my very handsome husband on June 8, 2013, five of our closest friends and family members also got married over a seven month time span (that doesn’t actually end until October).  We’re even going to a wedding this afternoon for one of my dearest friends that I met through my first year internship.  Which brings me to today’s topic: How to be a good wedding guest.

While this may seem like common sense, you’d be surprised at how many people lack the knowledge of wedding etiquette.  I suppose it’s one of those things that you don’t care to learn about until you’re a crazy bride (like I was).  Don’t worry though, I’m here to help you put your best foot forward and be as respectable and likable at a wedding as you are in the office.

The hubby and I looking fabulous at a recent wedding!

The hubby and I looking fabulous at a recent wedding!

RSVP early:  Nothing was worse than waiting for those few random people to RSVP to the wedding.  I know you got it, and I know you know whether or not you can come, so try to RSVP as early as possible.  Some things can’t be done until you get your entire “Yes” list, so save the bride and groom some trouble and that extra phone call and let them know if you’ll be attending in a timely manner.

Arrive on time:  Unless a very unusual circumstance holds you up, try really, really hard not to be late, especially to the ceremony.  You don’t want to be the one walking in after the bride does!

Don’t get too drunk:  Open bar? Hell yeah!  Don’t let yourself get too wild though.  We’ve been to more than one wedding where someone gets a little out of control.  All it does is make you look a little silly and puts you in a position to do something stupid you wouldn’t normally do.  While the bride and groom want you to have a good time, they usually don’t want you to get too sloshed.  Save that for the after party!

Don’t stress about how much you’re giving as a gift: That whole “cover the cost of your plate” thing really doesn’t apply anymore.  Instead, give a gift that is thoughtful and fits your budget.  The bride and groom will thank you for putting in some extra thought that shows you care!  For example, for the wedding we’re going to today, we made them a fun date night package so that they can enjoy some quality time together (I’m thinking I’ll add a quick tutorial of how I made it at a later date).  For other weddings, we gave a check that fit into our budget at the time.  Do whatever works best for you.

Have fun! This is the most important one!  Don’t be a Debbie downer sulking in your seat.  This is a wedding after all!  Eat, dance, and be merry!

Now it’s your turn!  What stories do you have of guests who may be lacking a little bit of etiquette in the wedding department?

Leave a Reply

