Try Something New: Inspiration from the Creator of Spanx

This post is going to be a little bit shorter than usual, but my schedule has been crazy this week and I haven’t had time to write as much as I would’ve liked (sorry! I promise to get back on my A-game ASAP!). A lot of the information and inspiration I get comes from networking, talking with leaders in my field, and reading what other bloggers have to say. One of my favorite places to learn about the world is LinkedIn. (If you are a young professional and don’t have a LinkedIn profile, you better go there right now and make one!) Not only does it help me network online, I follow quite a few people who regularly post fascinating articles that teach me more about business and life than I could have ever imagined.

Today I happened to read one about Sara Blakely, the founder and CEO of Spanx. (Check out the full article here) If you’re a woman, you definitely know what these are! They can turn you from looking shabby to chic and no one can even tell! What I found most interesting is that she actually started this business with only $5,000 and grew it into a billion dollar company. That’s just insane, inspiring, and awesome! It’s also proof that you don’t need a ton of money to start your own company.

She's achieved one of my goals! I'd love to be on the cover of Forbes!

She’s achieved one of my goals! I’d love to be on the cover of Forbes!

She mentioned that you should try something new even if it makes you feel uncomfortable. She states that creativity emerges the most during these times and can spark a great new idea. I couldn’t agree with her more. Some of my best ideas come when I’m willing to take a chance, not when I’m stuck on autopilot (as she said).

Step out of your comfort zone, even if it’s only a baby step. It will be hard at first and you’ll want to run back to your safe spot, but don’t. Open your mind and let the uncomfortableness flow. Before you know it, you could have a new business idea, project, or just a new perception of something old. Either way, you’ll be learning and growing as a person and a leader.

Now it’s your turn! Have you ever stepped out of your comfort zone? What was the result?

Leave a Reply

