Business Lessons From the Emperor’s New Groove

Saturday night I had the pleasure of having the house all to myself while my husband went out with his friends. So, what did I do? I bought a chicken parmesan sandwich, snuggled up on the couch with the pup, and watched The Emperor’s New Groove. Yes, I watched a children’s Disney movie (don’t judge me).

First of all, this movie is actually hilarious even when you’re older. I can’t get over the multiple memes out there.  Here’s two favorites!

llama social

Okay, okay, back on track. Besides bringing me tons of joy on my quiet Saturday night, this movie reminded me of two very important lessons that people need to remember in every day life as well as at the office. Here they are:

  1. You need to treat others with respect.
  2. You can’t do everything on your own.

Now, let’s break it down a little bit more.

Why you need to treat others with respect. First of all, it’s just the polite thing to do. If you expect to be treated kindly, you must do the same. But, more importantly in the office, you never know who you will be working for or with. Do not be rude and condescending to someone because they may be your boss or you may need their help later. Not only is it general good manners to show respect to your fellow human beings, you may be putting yourself in a bad work position if you’re not showing this type of kindness. I’ve seen this happen more than once in my office. Before you go shooting your mouth off, acting ill-mannered, and out of control, remember that you will one day need help. You don’t want to have bitten the hand that is about to feed you, so take it from me (or your legal guardian who probably taught you something similar). Be polite and treat people with respect no matter who they are (even if they don’t totally deserve it). You can do your complaining later to to your friends.

Why you can’t do everything on your own. I admit that I like to accomplish a lot of things on my own. I was never a big fan of group projects and while collaboration is fun, I often prefer to get my projects done on my own time with my own skill sets. However, work is not done in a vacuum and doing things by myself isn’t always possible. You need continued partnership to help turn your ideas into reality. No one can know everything and collaboration can give you a fresh perspective on an old idea. Because of this, you really can’t be a one-man team all the time. Learn to accept that you will have to ask for help (both professionally and in your personal life) at one point or another. It doesn’t mean you’re not competent. It means you’re smart for recognizing that someone else could assist where you are lacking.

So, my Saturday night children’s movie turned into a realization that respect and help go hand in hand. Treat others how you would like to be treated and chances are they’ll help you when you need. Act like a complete jerk and they’ll make sure you get the worst projects and leave you high and dry. Oh, the joys of meshing Disney with business!

Now, it’s your turn! Have you ever been in a position where respect altered your ability to work with someone? 

Leave a Reply

