5 Things I’m Thankful For

It’s Thanksgiving which means hopefully everyone is gathered around with their friends and family enjoying a nice dinner. Some of you may be cooking, some of you may just be eating (like my lucky self), and others may be gearing up for the early Black Friday deals! No matter what you’re doing though, everyone should be remembering the good things in their lives. So, here are 5 things that I’m very thankful for this Thanksgiving.

thankful

  1. My family. When I say my family is a mini melting pot, I’m really not kidding. We’re as unique as they come and mostly functional. Regardless of how annoying I might find people at particular points in time, they’ve always been there for me through thick and thin. Whether it was the passing of my parents, moving my belongings 3 times in 6 months, or cooking dinner for my husband and me because I suck at it, I know I can always count on them. I couldn’t be more thankful to have such a good group of people around me.
  2. Having an amazing place to live. The apartment my husband and I share with our dog is out of this world. It’s a two-bedroom that sits on a ton of property that’s surrounded by farmland. It’s set off the road so we don’t have to worry about our dog running away and we have garage space with a washer and dryer. Not to mention it’s extremely affordable. I couldn’t have gotten luckier or asked for more in my little home.
  3. Having a good job. With the unemployment rate as high as it is, any job could be considered a good job. But in all honesty, I have a really good job. It’s frustrating at times, but it pays the bills and gives me a lot of great opportunities that others don’t currently have. It’s a blessing to know I can get up every day and do something I like to do.
  4. Having people who encourage me. This is something I definitely take for granted, but having people in my life who not only love me but encourage me to be the best that I can be is amazing. Hearing others are proud of me and knowing they will support me when I’m struggling is sometimes all I need to get through a tough day.
  5. My health. My family has quite the awful track record when it comes to health and my husband’s new health scare made me really value my overall well-being. It’s something that I usually take for granted, but now realize I shouldn’t. While I’m still healthy, I’m going to make the best of every day and do all the things that make me happy. You never know when something like this could change.

Now, it’s your turn! What are you thankful for this year?

Leave a Reply

