Pay It Forward

As I sat in the steam room tonight at my gym, a woman was talking about how she mentors a young girl. She does it for free after work and spends countless amounts of hours and dollars driving her to support groups and taking her to the diner. From what she was explaining, this is the type of person who has everything. She comes from a successful family and wants for nothing, but got caught up in the wrong situations that led her down a bad path. It’s a story that’s all too common where I live.

Another woman and I were applauding her for all of her work, reminding her how honorable it is because not a lot of people would go to these lengths to help someone. The mentor said, “Someone did this for me once so it’s only right and good that I help someone else.”

In other words, pay it forward. Show others the kindness that you were once shown. It’s something we should all be doing more often than we probably do. I know I definitely don’t do it enough.

So, here’s a reminder that at one time someone probably gave you a helping hand and so you should return the favor by paying it forward. It could be through something as simple as a random act of kindness (see the picture below) or as amazing as mentoring like the woman I was talking to. No matter what it is, make sure it comes from the heart. I hope that I can find a way to truly give back one day after everything I’ve been given. I’ll let you all know when it finally happens!

Saw this on the boardwalk one night when we were visiting Ocean Grove. I looove when I see random acts of kindness!

Saw this on the boardwalk one night when we were visiting Ocean Grove. I looove when I see random acts of kindness!

Now, it’s your turn. Have you ever paid it forward? What did you do?

One thought on “Pay It Forward

Leave a Reply

