Getting Out of a Fashion Rut: Day One

As promised, this week I’m going to highlight my office attire. Just so you know, my office is business casual. That means you need to look professional, but a full suit isn’t necessary. Thank goodness because I don’t own any full suits and can never find any I like.

Here’s today’s outfit.

IMG_2485

My toes match my shirt which totally wasn’t planned, but worked out well!

I chose this look because it’s clean, classic, but still has a pop of color. I didn’t want to seem too overwhelming or too boring. It’s hard to find a middle, but I thought this color mixed with the sleek pants gave me a sophisticated and put together look. I also got a fresh cut for my first day (my neighbor cuts my hair in exchange for using our wifi. Not a bad deal).

I got the top from JC Penney on sale on Black Friday and the pants are from H&M. Personally, I find H&M pants to be comfortable, fit my body well, and totally affordable. I think these were only $34.50 and they came with the cute belt I have on. Other good options for buying pants are New York and Company, Kohls, or Express (if you don’t mind dropping a few bucks).

I decided to accessorize with my favorite necklace that reads “It takes courage to grow up and become who you really are” as well as an Alex and Ani compass bracelet. I thought that was extremely fitting since it’s supposed to help with objective, direction, and transition. What better way to start a new job than with all these things in mind?

My shoes are actually from high school! Yes, high school! I found them in the back of my closet gathering dust and decided I really like them. It’s amazing what treasures you can find when you clean and organize!

Get ready for another look tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

